Manning Elementary School students stole the spotlight at the recent Roanoke Rapids Graded School District (RRGSD) Board of Trustees meeting, where they showcased their Living History Museum Project, captivating attendees with insightful presentations. Fifth-grade students spent two weeks in reading class researching a historical figure of their choosing and preparing a speech from the figure’s perspective. Students then brought historical figures to life, delivering speeches from their perspectives. The project has become a highlight of the 5th grade year and both students and staff look forward to being able to visit the “Living Museum”. During the meeting's Special Recognition segment, attendees heard from Khloe Mabb as Olympic Gold Medalist Shawn Johnson, Christopher Godfrey as Captain of the Titanic Edward Smith, and Nicholas Carter as aviation pioneer Orville Wright. Superintendent Julie Thompson also complimented the 5th grade teachers on their hard work and dedication to the students. 

Khloe MabbChristopherGodfreyNick CarterSuperintendent Thompson and her staff recognized board members for their North Carolina School Board Association training achievements for the 2022-2023 school year. Through the NCSBA Academy for School Boardsmanship, school board members are provided high-quality training programs to help them effectively fulfill their responsibilities as leaders of public education in North Carolina. Dr. Michael Williams earned the Diploma of Honor for obtaining 501-600 hours of training, Valencia Davis earned the Bronze Award for obtaining 601-700 hours of training and Michael Salanik earned the Scholar's Circle for obtaining 900+ hours of training. 

Additionally, Trustees recognized several RRGSD schools with certificates from the NC Department of Public Instruction and the State Board of Education for achieving or exceeding expected academic growth under North Carolina’s accountability system for the 2022-2023 school year. These distinctions were earned by the hard work of students and educators and showcase the dedication to academic achievement in our schools. Manning Elementary and Belmont Elementary were recognized for achieving academic growth and Chaloner Middle School and Roanoke Rapids Early College High School were recognized for exceeding academic growth. Roanoke Rapids Early College High School also received a certificate for an Outstanding Graduation Rate of 100%. 

Moseley, Thompson, Ott, Goble, Karns, Catalano

During her remarks, Superintendent Thompson recognized the JROTC program at Roanoke Rapids High School. The Jackets Battalion held their annual JROTC Military Ball this past Friday night and, along with Major Bunch and Chief Stith, the Cadets did a wonderful job of planning and hosting the event that is held at American Legion Post 38. She also extended congratulations to Cadet Damien Hill who received The American Legion Noah Joyner, Jr. $1000 Memorial Scholarship, Cadet Adam Robistow who received The American Legion Scholastic Achievement Medal, and Cadet Cody Stansbury, who received The American Legion General Military Excellence Medal. She wrapped her comments up by offering congratulations to RRHS Student Council who attended the North Carolina Association of Student Councils State Conference recently, where students Reagan Mitchell, Cadence Elliott, Logan Daniel and Emily Campbell-Tyler were inducted into the State Student Council Hall of Fame, and Elizabeth Love was elected into the NCASC Eastern District Vice Chair Position. 

Hill, Robistow, Stansburystudent council