Teachers Honored by District

Some of the Roanoke Rapids Graded School District’s top educators, support staff, and administrators were honored Tuesday during the District’s annual End of Year Celebration.  Superintendent Julie Thompson showered the winners with gifts donated by local businesses and golden apple trophies, courtesy of Roanoke Rapids Saving Bank.

“I am truly inspired by the work our educators and support staff do on a daily basis.  They have shown the highest levels of dedication and worked tirelessly to help our students achieve during these unprecedented times,” said Thompson.  

Roanoke Rapids Early College High School math teacher Ashley Lynch was chosen to represent the district as the 2022 RRGSD Teacher Ambassador.  

One teacher from each school was selected as a candidate for the district’s Teacher Ambassador of the Year and was interviewed by a panel at the district level.  Other finalists for Teacher of the Year included Carol Wade, Cheryl Melvin, Nikki Snead, Danny Price, Gary Edwards, and Heather Dickens.  

New teacher Christian Boletchek was named the RRGSD 2022 Beginning Teacher of the Year.   Boletchek is in his first year with Chaloner Middle School as Band Director.    

Other beginning teacher finalists included Sydnee Clements, Kirklyn Parks, and Molly Wallace.  

Eight people were nominated for Support Person of the Year.  Teacher Assistant Sandra Duncan, Nurse Extender Chris Exum, Custodian Leon Whitehead, School Resource Officer Ron Baird, Administrative Assistants Heidi Barker and Keisha Moseley, Teacher Assistant Rita Tart, and Payroll Manager Sue Allen.   

All of the Support People of the Year received prizes and gift cards.  

Longtime Manning Principal Lauren Hinnant was chosen as the district’s Principal of the Year.  She is in her tenth year with RRGSD and was recently promoted to Executive Director of Instructional Services.   

Hinnant, along with the Beginning Teacher of the Year and Teacher of the Year will go on to represent RRGSD at the regional level.  

Thanks to the following businesses for donating gifts:  

Halifax Linen, $500 Gift Card for all winners 

Golden Apple Trophies, Roanoke Rapids Savings Bank/Riverside Savings Bank

Discount Tire of RR, oil changes for each district winner

Horace Mann Insurance Agent Elizabeth Mouzzan, $100 Gift Card for each winner and

all nominees

Westrock, summer-themed gift bags for each district winner